The Breakdown Episode 52

Posted: June 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

Featuring tracks from Zulu Winter, Tove Lo, Breakbot, The XX, Atlas Genius, Black Light Dinner Party and Mr. Little Jeans.

Stream it here: 

To download the mp3 file, right click this URL and “save link as” to your preferred download destination on your computer:

Hello Breakdown fiends (and friends). Welcome to the first Aussie edition of The Breakdown in quite a long time. And what a good one it is to kick off this stretch of fair dinkum podcasts that shall hopefully find their way to you a lot more regularly and frequently from here on in.

Featuring in this episode is more goodness from the stellar album from Atlas Genius, along with another taste from the also fantastic release by Zulu Winter. These albums have been frequenting my iPod of late and neither have let me down yet.

Big highlights of this podcast come in the form of a couple of sweet, very catchy numbers from Black Light Dinner Party and also Tea Leigh and Luke Reed. Give them both a good crack they are tres enjoyable.

Sweden has delivered yet another overnight female solo sensation in the mould of Lykke Li and Elliphant, in the form of Tove Lo. Her track, Habits, is catchy and clever; and is rife with lyrics that will help you miss someone you have left on another continent :(

Previous Breakdown performers Houses and Mr Little Jeans also feature very solid tracks in this episode, while Night Moves gives us cause to remember what it felt like when MGMT dropped their seminal album Oracular Spectacular.

Props to Poupee F, from Ukraine, who sent me a couple of tracks that I delighted in sampling, via the contact section of The Breakdown‘s website. Any aspiring indie artists that are fans of, or come across The Breakdown, please send me your tracks I absolutely love getting them!

Rounding out this episode is a new number from the great The XX. A beautiful mellow song that will touch you in ways that The XX only know how to do.

Enjoy the listen!

Artist – Song Title (Start Time)
1. Atlas Genius – Electric (00:00)
2. Black Light Dinner Party – Lift Away (04:03)
3. Tea Leigh & Luke Reed – Color Theory (Pleasure Curses Remix) (07:26)
4. Zulu Winter – Small Pieces (11:22)
5. IS TROPICAL – Dancing Anymore (14:32)
6.  FM Belfast – Par Avion (19:51)

7. Saturday Looks Good To Me – Sunglasses (23:06)
8. Tove Lo – Habits (27:10)
9. PLOY – VRDSNT (30:37)
10. Breakbot Feat. Irfane – Baby I’m yours (34:11)
11. Fitz and the Tantrums – Out of My League (37:45)
12. Modern Ritual – Matches + Gasoline (41:20)
13. Night Moves – Country Queen (44:56)
14. CRISTALLIN – Terranea (49:13)
15. Atlas Genius – If So (52:17)
16. Poupee F – The Gull (55:17)
17. A Tribe Called Red – Electric Pow Wow Drum (59:05)
18. Twin Peaks – Stand in The Sand (1:02:44)
19. Speak – Peaks (1:05:00)
20. Mr. Little Jeans – Oh Sailor (feat. the Silverlake Conservatory of Music Youth Chorale) (1:10:19)
21. Gracie – My Pet (1:14:28)
22. Dakota Melin – The Sea (1:17:46)
23. Houses – The Beauty Surrounds (1:21:03)
24. Hockey – Defeat On The Double Bass Line (1:27:00)
25. The XX- Together (1:30:35)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s