The Breakdown Episode 110

Posted: February 2, 2017 in Uncategorized

Featuring tracks from Two Feet, TEN FÉ, Fenech-Soler, Kishi Bashi, Jagwar Ma, Electric Guest, SOHN, Why? and Sjowgren.


Stream it in podcast format here: 


Stream it in playlist format (with the ability to skip tracks) by clicking here


To download the mp3 file, right click and “save link as” here: the-indie-electro-breakdown-episode-110


Hello and welcome to the first podcast of the best new music for 2017. It’s been a busy start to the year and already we are being blown away by the tunes humanity is pumping out. It’s a great time to be alive that much is for sure.

This episode is a little more chilled out than usual, not for any particular reason. But I feel this playlist would suit a dinner party more than a pre-drink session.

Take in the first few tracks to see why. As we usually do with our podcasts, we put the strongest tracks first, and it so happens that they are mellower numbers in this episode. Two Feet are mind-blowingly good, and who we see as the replacement for Alt-J, unless they can come back with a 3rd album that re-owns the fat-bassy, weird and musically incomparable genre that they created themselves. The Mosa Wild tune is a neck-hair-raising beauty that leads perfectly into the Fenech-Soler track that is equally powerful.

Move on then to TEN FÉ’s incredible cover of Underworld’s Born Slippy. I was 14 when this song came out and it opened up an entire world to me, doubtless it did the same to many others. TEN FÉ have achieved the difficult task of covering an electronic song with traditional instruments, while injecting their own sound, and they have killed it!

Other tracks of note include the return of a couple of 2012 Breakdown favourites in Electric Guest and SOHN.

We also continue our love affairs with albums from Kishi Bashi and Jagwar Ma; and take a first look at a band, We Draw A, that we feel may feature prominently in coming episodes.

Take care, have fun and enjoy the tunes xx



Artist – Song Title (Start time)

  1. Two Feet – Quick Musical Doodles & Sex (00:00)
  2. Mosa Wild – Smoke (03:30)
  3. Fenech-Soler – Cold Light (07:15)
  4. Kishi Bashi – Statues in a Gallery (12:10)
  5. Chelou – Don’t Hate On Me (15:30)
  6. TEN FÉ – Born Slippy .NUXX (Underworld remix) (19:30)
  7. Porcelain Raft – Distant Shore (25:30)
  8. Sjowgren – Now & Then (29:00)
  9. Electric Guest – Back For Me (32:00)
  10. Jagwar Ma – Loose Ends (35:30)
  11. Tom West – Easy, Love (Liftboi Remix) (41:00)
  12. Two Feet – You’re So Cold (44:40)
  13. Moons of Mars – Na Na Na (46:45)
  14. The Fame Riot – Heart Stray (51:10)
  15. SOHN – Conrad (55:15)
  16. Illenium – Only One (ft. Nina Sung) (59:00)
  17. Temples – Certainty (Franz Ferdinand Remix) (1:03:10)
  18. Tash Sultana – Notion (1:08:10)
  19. Zanski – Collapse (1:12:20)
  20. Why? – This Ole King (1:17:30)
  21. Kishi Bashi – Hey Big Star (1:22:10)
  22. oddnesse – Somewhere Somehow (1:25:30)
  23. Patience – The Church (1:28:15)
  24. We Draw A – Tilia (1:31:20)
  25. Art Vandelay – Empty Without You (1:37:00)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s