The Breakdown Episode 68

Posted: March 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

Featuring tracks from Delorean, Bombay Bicycle Club, Papa, Mr. Little Jeans, The Glitch Mob, Cloud Nothings, Wild Beasts and Metronomy.

Stream it here: 

To download the mp3 file, right click and “save link as” here: The Breakdown with Ben Episode 68

Hello music fans and welcome to the latest edition of The Breakdown. I won’t bother telling you how good this one is, as considering that quality is the hallmark of this blog, it should go without saying! Having said that, Episode 67 was a very tough act to follow… If you haven’t heard it yet, I highly recommend it.

This episode contains primarily blogged single tracks found floating around in the ether that is the internet, and what a strong showing it is. I’ve opened with my fave song of the past week or so, coming from an artist by the name of Kyla La Grange. It’s a remix, admittedly I haven’t even heard the original, but long time Breakdown followers will know that we’re not averse to a good ol’ remix, and this one is brilliant.

Other single track highlights include numbers by Mr. Little Jeans, who is back, albeit with a more electro feel this time around. Magic Giant’s mandolin infused toe tapping hit is awesome, as is the catchy Gold Spectacles track Steal You Away. Touch Sensitive has dropped a fantastic electro song titled Slowments, and I am having a great time getting to know this song. Another tune is included by LA’s ::M∆DE::IN::HEIGHTS::, who are responsible for a number of highlight tracks over the last couple of podcasts. Keep an eye on them.

I am still thrashing The Glitch Mob’s stunning second album Love, Death, Immortality. See Episode 67 for a full run down on this masterpiece of modern music. It appears that my mp3 joining software is somehow slightly slowing down The Glitch Mob’s tracks, apologies for this. This, I guess, is one of the downfalls of running a blog in your own time on your own money. To avoid this problem I do highly, highly recommend you purchase the album and listen to it directly.

San Fran band Papa, who rose from the ashes of the now defunct Girls, have released a very solid debut album called Tender Madness, and it has been on high rotation in Breakdown quarters of late. Check it out.

A number of albums by new and familiar bands have just been stumbled upon, with limited listens thus far, a couple of tracks are included on this podcast nonetheless. Spanish indie dance band Delorean, responsible for one of The Breakdown’s favourite albums of 2010, Subiza, is back with a new album, entitled Apar. Although it was released in September 2013, I figured it’s better to still include the standout track, Walk High. In my opinion, Apar is not quite up there with Subiza in terms of catchiness and originality, but it is still not bad.

Another band that has done something similar is English group Metronomy. These guys almost create their own genre, there is literally no other band that sounds remotely like them, and I love that about them. 2008 saw them drop their second album, Nights Out, bringing them into the spotlight, which I loved for its originality. 2011 brought us The English Riviera, which channelled, focused and even celebrated their originality and this quirky, catchy, infectious sound that they had carved. The English Riviera remains my favourite of their releases and is highly recommended if you have not heard Metronomy’s brilliant, original sound. The new album Love Letters still has that sound, but in my opinion it is lacking their trademark catchiness and listenability. The standout track I’m Aquarius was included a couple podcasts ago, and another solid track is included in this episode.

Other albums I have only just got hands on come from English groups Wild Beasts, who are previous Breakdown favourites of years gone by, and Bombay Bicycle Club, whose album So Long, See You Tomorrow, sounds very promising. Expect to hear more in subsequent episodes.

Lastly a big shout out to the artists that have personally forwarded me their music over the past couple weeks. I love receiving music directly from the horses mouth, and the past couple weeks has been very fruitful in that department. Sydney, Australia’s Nightbug sent me their debut EP Parallels, Monique Brumby forwarded a couple of great tracks, and Greece’s Egg Hell delivered a beautiful song called suffering. All are included in this episode.

Happy listening, friends, until the next batch of awesome brand new and underground music is upon us!

Artist – Track Title (Start Time)

1. Kyla La Grange – Cut Your Teeth (Kygo Remix) (00:00)
2. Clubfeet – Everything You Wanted (06:36)
3. The Glitch Mob – Fly By Night Only (feat. Yaarrohs) (10:12)
4. Mr. Little Jeans – Good Mistake (15:25)
5. Magic Giant – Glass Heart (19:39)
6. Papa – I Am The Lion King (23:27)
7. Bombay Bicycle Club – Home By Now (27:29)
8. Meg Myers – Make A Shadow (32:06)
9. Night Flowers – Embers (36:27)
10. Gold Spectacles – Steal You Away (39:26)
11. Delorean – Walk High (42:41)
12. Nightbug – Tropic (47:14)
13. Touch Sensitive – Slowments (49:44)
14. Gossling – Accolade (56:44)
15. ::M∆DE::IN::HEIGHTS:: – All The Places (1:01:03)
16. Koloto – Mechanica (1:04:22)
17. Silversun Pickups – Bloody Mary (1:07:37)
18. Cloud Nothings – I’m Not Part Of Me (1:11:44)
19. The Glitch Mob – Carry The Sun (1:16:20)
20. The Presets – Goodbye Future (1:21:42)
21. Mutemath – In No Time (Pierce Fulton Remix) (1:25:18)
22. Wild Beasts – Nature Boy (1:31:02)
23. Big Scary – Invest (1:34:35)
24. Monique Brumby – Forever Gone (1:38:44)
25. Egg Hell – Suffering (1:42:05)
26. Metronomy – The Upsetter (1:46:23)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s