The Breakdown Episode 46

Posted: January 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

Featuring tracks from Elliphant, Flume, Olympic Ayres, Wildcat! Wildcat!, ODESZA, Van She, Ra Ra Riot, Two Door Cinema Club, Chrome Sparks, holy crap the list just goes on and on…

Stream it here: 

Right click “save link as” to download mp3 here: The Breakdown with Ben Episode 46

I know I said the last episode was the best ever… but just take a look at the tracklist on this one, from indie heavyweights returning with new material to the best new up-and-comers, this episode is literally bursting at the seams with amazing new tunes.

Where do I start… at the start I suppose. Elliphant is a brand new Swedish artist, straight out of the cauldron of cutting edge indie artist haven that is Stockholm, home to Lykke Li and Peter, Bjorn and John among countless other artists at the forefront of new sound creation. This song is just straight up brilliant. Very good for a pump up with plenty of fat bassy undertones and a catchy melody.

Following straight up is a beautiful number with a real groove from Australian artist Olympic Ayres. Other amazing brand new singles featured come from Flume, Sir Sly, YesYou, Capybara, The Deer Tracks, Collarbones and Icona Pop. All fantastic.

I finally have another song from Wildcat! Wildcat!, the band responsible for possibly my favourite song of 2012, Mr. Quiche.

Indie heavyweights Two Door Cinema Club have recently released a new album, beacon, which is presently on high rotation on my iPod, and a few standout tracks will no doubt appear over the coming episodes. Ra Ra Riot also have some new material out and it appears their sound has somewhat matured and evolved.

Best new find of the last week is the album Summer’s Gone, by ODESZA. Fans of Bonobo, Emancipator and Miike Snow will love this one, it is a cracker.

Hope you enjoy, this one is truly a great one :)

Tracklist (start time)

1. Elliphant – Down On Life (00:00)

2. Olympic Ayres – Daylight (03:27)

3. Flume – Left Alone Feat. Chet Faker (08:33)

4. Sir Sly – Ghost (11:59)

5. Wildcat! Wildcat! – The Chief (15:45)

6. YesYou – Frivolous Life ft. Marcus Azon (19:18)

7. ODESZA – iPlayYouListen (22:30)

8. Van She – Jamaica (27:23)

9. Tennis – Petition (31:55)

10. Ra Ra Riot – Beta Love (35:04)

11. Capybara – Neighbour Crimes (38:02)

12. Dana Buoy – Call To Be (41:51)

13. yellowson – Black Cloud (45:52)

14. PANAMA – MAGIC (51:34)

15. Two Door Cinema Club – Someday (55:08)

16. The Deer Tracks – Lazarus (58:49)

17. IntotheNorthSea – Hat-RUUR (1:02:26)

18. Collarbones – Hypothermia ft. Guerre (1:06:08)

19. ODESZA – I Want You (1:10:35)

20. Chrome Sparks – Send The Pain On (1:13:18)

21. Triathalon – Teenager (1:18:53)

22. Icona Pop – I Love It (1:23:23)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s